Your shopping cart is empty.

Prieto Conducts Chávez, Bernstein & Shostakovich

New Orleans |  Orpheum Theater 

For student pricing and more information, please review our Ticketing Policies.
Explore the LPO's concert venues.

Carlos Chávez’s Symphony No. 2, Sinfonía India, opens the concert program with the musical spirit of Mexico. Alexandra Soumm brings her lyric virtuosity to Serenade after Plato’s “Symposium” by Leonard Bernstein. Comprised of an opening slow movement followed by two scherzos, Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 6 has a unique form and ends the program with a blaze.

Classics presented by Paulette and Frank Stewart

Artist travel and accommodations provided by:




Carlos Miguel Prieto Conductor Learn More
Alexandra Soumm Violin  


Carlos Chávez Symphony No. 2, Sinfonía India Listen with Spotify
Leonard Bernstein Serenade after Plato's "Symposium" Listen with Spotify
Dmitri Shostakovich Symphony No. 6 Listen with Spotify

Program duration is approximately 2 hours including a 20-minute intermission.
There will be a pre-concert talk one hour prior to the performance.